Seeing and Savoring: Hanami at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden – Part I

Hi F&F,

Hanami is the name for the Japanese tradition of enjoying the entire blossoming season of the Cherry Trees.  The span from the first sparse buds to the stage when the branches are blanketed in blossoms is a time to see and savor spring.

Here are a few pictures taken at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens.   When I visited, last week, the Japanese Garden was in full bloom. The grand Cherry Esplanade was in pre bloom.  I intend to visit again to see the spectacular show of The Cherry Esplanade.  For now here are a few large photos followed by a slide show of my visit to one of my favorite places during my favorite time of the year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

A(Cherry)TreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, new york city, Outdoors, Photo, Photography, photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Seeing and Savoring: Hanami at the Brooklyn Botanic Garden – Part I

  1. Pavi says:

    Thanks for sharing these lovely shots. It’s nice to know people are enjoying the blossoms in other parts of the world than Japan.

    Your images of the sakura next to the pond are really beautiful. And a happy surprise to see rows of turtles enjoying the sunshine there too, as they do in Tokyo.

    • Thanks for visiting and commenting. Cherry blossoms and roses are big in the Borough of Brooklyn. Many of the tress on the street and in people’s garden could compete with the splendor of those in the botanic garden.
      Last year I was traveling across country. My timing allowed me to enjoy the blossoms in Washington, DC and San Francisco. I was thrilled to come home to NY in time to experience them in my hometown. It was a great welcome home.

  2. Northern Narratives says:

    Very beautiful, I love to visit gardens.

  3. eof737 says:

    We visited the gardens quite a bit when we lived in Brooklyn… I love it and it might be time to pay another visit. 🙂
    By the way, I updated my latest post, here is the new link: http://eof737.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/memories-of-moments-in-bliss/ TY! 🙂

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Sugoi!
    Doomo arigato gozaimasu, Tree.
    This was such a special treat! It really felt like being there, wandering through the gardens and enjoying so many different views of the beautiful, ephemeral cherry blossoms.
    My parents took me there for the first time when I was two, and it has shaped my life. I mean that literally —
    Thank you for being so generous with your photos!

  5. lm1947 says:

    I have a lot Cherry Blossom trees in my neighborhood but Prospect Park looks amazing. Next year I want to visit Prospect Park with you.

    L

  6. Pingback: Seeing and Savoring Hanami Season at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens – Part I.5 | atreegrowsinbklyn

  7. Pingback: Spring « myldmc

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

