Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

Hi F&F,

I work in a sparking new building. From design to occupancy is a long process and despite all the consultations, planning and modeling the real test of the success of a project is, ultimately, in the user’s experience in the space.

 Just like in any relationship, over time, discoveries are made that irritate and ingratiate. About two weeks ago I made a discovery that made me “fall in love” with my workplace all over again.  As we head into the seasons of spring and summer I’ve noticed that the sun is doing amazing things in the atrium of the building.

As the bright sun passes through the great expanse of windows, interesting patterns appear and disappear; a shadow kaleidoscope.  It is nice yet it is to be expected. The delightfully unexpected discovery is that, under the right conditions, the wall of windows and the glass fixtures inside the atrium will refract the light from the sun; and act like a prism; creating a spectrum of light similar to a rainbow. These colorful beams of light show up in the most unexpected places and I always feel fortunate to catch a glimpse of one as I go about my day.

The challenge asked for the sun, but I’m giving you a rainbow. I don’t think that is such a bad trade.  My photo captures the light from the sun; separated into its spectral colors.  It also shows me trying to make a rainbow connection (love the Muppets). Have a look and have a listen.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Curiosities & Oddities, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

  1. Sarah Harris says:

    That is one of my all time favorite songs! Have you heard the Dixie Chicks version too? I’m singing as I type!

  2. cobbies69 says:

    Thank you for this lovely memory jerker, My wife and daughter at the Disney show of the muppets,, very enjoyable, fabulous,not to forget the others at the end. thanks again..;)

  3. frizztext says:

    perfect prisma experiment!

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Great post 🙂

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    How wonderful to hear Kermit’s voice again! Thank you!
    (P.S. we live in Northampton, no question about Rainbow Connections here!)

  6. eof737 says:

    Very, very cute! 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

