Seeing and Savoring Hanami Season at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens – Part I.5

Hi F&F,

Recently, I took you along on my trip to the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens to see and savor Hanami. (Please click HERE to see the post and pictures.) At the time of my visit, the Japanese Garden was in full blossom and the Cherry Esplanade was in the pre-blossom stage.  I vowed to return to catch the full blossomed beauty of the Cherry Esplanade and, again, share the photos with you. Alas, it was a case of the best laid plans …. and time and tide wait for no man; and any other quotes about missed opportunities you can recite.  I was not able to make a return visit as soon as I had hoped and unfortunately, last weekend’s drenching rain and windy weather did a real job on the delicate blossoms. By the time I checked on the “cherries” they were overripe and many were torn from the branches and strewn on the grassy walk.  Yes it was a letdown, but I was not down hearted or down and out; because while I went for the Cherry Trees; I stayed for the Azaleas, Bluebells, Lilacs and some awesome (yes, I’m using the “A” word) tress and shrubs.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Photo, Photography, photos, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Seeing and Savoring Hanami Season at the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens – Part I.5

  1. Hellopalz says:

    Nice photos, I loved the garden! Thanks for the pingback 🙂

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Dove tree, wisteria, bluebells — wizard!
    As for missing the last of the cherry trees due to unexpected wind and rain —
    a quintessential Japanese experience! Their beauty is BECAUSE they are ephemeral, not in spite of it!

  3. Mmm, I’ll bet it smelled divine.

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    The beauty and joy of spring. Great photos 🙂

  5. Oh, how I miss those gardens, Prospect Park and the Brooklyn Museum too. Many countless hours spent in those places many moons ago. Thanks for sharing!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

