Weekly Photo Challenge: Together

Hi F&F,

On September 15, 2011, I and tens of thousands of New Yorkers gathered together at the Great Lawn in Central Park to listen to Andrea Bocelli (and guests) sing and make beautiful music. If you saw the PBS program derived from the live concert, Concerto: One Night in Central Park, you may know that on that night it was unseasonably cold and it rained buckets.

 The inclement weather did not deter those of us fortunate enough to snag tickets to the free concert; a quintessential New York experience. Together we braved the elements so that we could be elevated by the joyous and romantic music.  We entered the park as strangers, but we huddled, companionably, together for warmth. We shared our blankets and umbrellas and whatever else was handy, to fashion makeshift shelters against the storm. We were in it together.

I didn’t take very many photos at the concert.  It would have taken an ambidextrous octopus to juggle the camera, the jacket, the shawl, the binoculars, the towels, and the picnic blanket and, of course, the umbrella, but I did manage to get a shot of two concert goers. They were part of the superset of concert goers and huddled together they formed their own sweet subset.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Events, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Together

  1. Imelda says:

    I am drawn to the second shot. There’s magic in those umbrellas in a a black and white photo. :-)

    • Thanks for visiting. Originally taken in color, I changed the picture to black and white to add a little atmosphere to the scene and to put the focus and attention on the pair.

  2. cobbies69 says:

    What you have shown here are brill’ thanks, I assume you enjoyed the show. ;)

  3. lm1947 says:

    Must have been wonderful.

  4. I’ve been to outdoor concerts in crazy weather, and years later those are the concerts I remember the most! And there does seem to be a spirit of camaraderie in the air. Great post. ;)

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    Great choice, the black and white nails it —

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Together… | Mirth and Motivation

  7. eof737 says:

    Lovely… :-)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

