Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue

Hi F&F

Truthfully, I was tempted to let this challenge pass me by because I wasn’t inspired by the subject – blue.  Perhaps it’s a case of the psychology of color working its mojo on me.  I closely associate the word blue with its synonyms; sad, depressed, and melancholy. The actual color blue invokes thoughts of conformity (many uniforms are blue) or work (the classic job interview suit is navy blue). I think my perception of blue has hindered my participation in this week’s challenge. I’ll add it to the list of “issues” that need to be explored with my psychotherapist and my minister.

In the meantime, I’m sharing a picture of my blue jean jacket. It’s not art.  It’s a jacket.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

P.S. Please take a look at the related articles for some artfully executed responses to the challenge.

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Fashion, humor, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue

  1. I’m sad to think we blue lovers were unable to turn you on to the dazzling blues of the world:).

  2. amira says:

    blue has strange connotations …
    i am not at all happy with the sad mood associate by the English with the colour blue.
    for me colour blue is serenity … :)

    • Color psychology is a very interesting subject. I knew color played a part in package design and marketing, but I became more familiar with some of the concepts when I interviewed interior designers for a cancer treatment center.

  3. atothewr says:

    Brings back memories of my own blue jean jacket.

  4. I don’t know where or how I lost my beloved denim jacket that looked just like yours!!! I was thinking about it the other day, so it struck me funny to see one represented in a photo challenge.

    This is unrelated to “blue” but I have a question: I noticed you often add the zemanta suggested blogs to your weekly photo challenges (as do I) and I’ve been wondering about the process Zemanta uses…. It seems the same core group ALWAYS always appears. If anyone can point me to Zemanta documentation or support files that better explain the ins and outs of selection, I’d be most appreciative!!

    • Hi SHBG,

      I’m so sorry you can’t find that jacket. :( I don’t get attached to many objects, but I can sympathize with in this instance. I would feel the loss of my jeans jacket. It is as old as the hills and it was dirt cheap. I’ve worn it over kakis and a tee shirt, a little black dress and a strand of pearls and I’ve layered it over sweaters when a coat is too much yet a sweater it too little. It was an excellent investment.

      Regarding Zemanta – I think Zemanta indexes lots of blogs across the internet to create a pool from which todraw their suggestions. They match the words you use in the writing of your blog to their pool and then they present the matches. Also, bloggers can share their blogs directly with Zemanta for inclusion in their pool of indexed blogs. I suspect if you keep seeing the same sites; they have linked to Zemanta in that way. I just learned about it as a way to increase traffic to your blog. I’m going to apply and see what happens.

      You can try to expand your options, beyond the same core group, by clicking the refine search as you write your post. This is best if the post is lengthy. Also, I often enter key words directly into the search box (like searching on Google). This usually gets me more relevent results. It is partially helpful if you are writing a post is less than 300 words.

      Finally, here is a link to a FAQ page that addresses many Zemanta questions.

      http://www.zemanta.com/faq/wpcom/#faqid-7

      Good luck,

      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue | mothergrogan

  6. When I think of “blue,” I think of the beautiful blue waters of the ocean. Maybe the light blue colors in the Caribbean, or the bright blue color in Hawaii; I find peace and relaxation in the color blue. (Hey I’m always dreaming of a tropical paradise) ;-)
    Thanks for the pingback!!

  7. Touch2Touch says:

    This is not art. It is a jacket.
    Thomas Merton would love you. For a really spiritual guy, he was pragmatic and down to earth, and believed in calling things as they are.
    So do you.
    (But if I want to look at it as art, what’s to stop me??????? ;-)

  8. eof737 says:

    I’m glad you decided to push past your reservations and show something. Good! :-)

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

