Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

Hi F&F,

Hands – the body part that embodies the many parts of our human nature. We give and take with our hands; acts of generosity or selfishness. We can build and destroy with them, too. We use our hands to stroke and sooth – showing care and we use our hands to punch and punish; showing cruelty. Some of us talk with our hands to enhance communication; reaching for an accord.   Others of us direct our conversation partners to “talk to the hand” effectively ending discourse in a discordant manner.

We have hands on our brain.  There are sayings, quotes and proverbs that use hands to illustrate wise life lessons.  There are more of them than there are fingers on your hands. Here are a handful of sayings I grew up hearing and here are a few  hand pictures for this week’s photo challenge.

    • Idle hands are the devils playground.
    • A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.
    • I wash my hands of it.

    • Cold hands; warm heart.
    • You can’t shake hands with a clenched fist.
    • Many hands make light work.
    • You must judge a man by the work of his hands.

    • One hand washes the other.
    • That’s a backhanded compliment.
    • ‘Lift up your hands in the sanctuary and praise the LORD’ (Psalm 134:2)

What hand sayings do you know?

Peace,
ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands

  1. ritarivera says:

    absolutely fabulous pics! well done! – rita
    would you visit my writing blog? And if you like it, would you follow it?
    http://gauchomarx.wordpress.com/
    Thanks!

  2. Pingback: Hands Look Best with Jamberry Nail Shields « Changeversations

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    A Shaker saying: Hands to work, hearts to God.
    Nice, huh. Nice post, for sure.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands | small house/BIG GARDEN

      • When I saw it/you pop up on Zemanta,I knew I had to add it! 🙂
        BTW, I wrote to Zemanta (thanks to you, for that suggestion!!) got a nice reply and have since seen my blog’s been added and getting pings! yay!!
        See you around, and what is the deal with that disembodied arm sculpture!!!
        Ca-reeeepyyyyy!!!! 🙂

        • Hi SHBG,

          Thanks for the plug and the ping! Wow you got a reply from Zemanta?! (high five!!) I didn’t get any feedback on my request, but I guess if you are starting to see my posts pop up; they must have acted on my inquiry. I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for your links whenever I post.

          Both of the sculptures I used for the post are a bit curious (and steps away from each other). The sculpture with the hands tied behind the back is, in fact, creepy. I did a close up of the hands to meet the challenge, but the entire installation consists of 5 cement prisoners; kneeling with bowed heads and tied hands. The artist is Raphael Zollinger. The work is meant to symbolize social change and the “abuse humans visit upon one another”. It’s haunting; even more so when, periodically, vandals decapitate or sever a hand from the sorrowful figures. (I’ll post a photo of the entire work when I set up a page for random pictures)

          The disembodied hand is by an artist named Dorothy Frankel. It’s one element in a series of bird feeders. I’ve only seen it filled with seeds (and thus birds) a handful (ha ha!) of times. So in reality, it’s the opposite of creepy!

          Have a nice weekend!

          Peace,
          ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  5. eof737 says:

    Wonderful selection of photos for the challenge. I love the variety. 🙂

  6. Sheyla says:

    Thanks for the pingback and the comment! Great photos!

  7. I like the quotes it really fits well with the challenge.

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Hands « a hectic life

  9. orples says:

    Very imaginative post. 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

