Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer

Hi F&F,

Last summer was a scorcher and I’m anxious that we may get a repeat performance of nature’s red hot fury. Already, we have experienced temperatures in the upper 80’s.  I am not looking forward to that heat.

What I am looking forward to is the coolness I found in light meals prepared with minimal application of heat.  I ate a lot of interesting salads and sipped and slurped my way through many versions on gazpacho last summer yet the two recipes I returned to time and again were both thanks to the Food Network. They were Bobby Flay’s Minted Lemonade and Guy Fieri’s Pomodoro Fresco Sourdough Bruschetta.  Both recipes met all my requirements for cooking in a heat wave.  They were simple to prepare, used what was plentiful in the market and lickety-split quick and, lick your fingers and lips, delicious.

The fact that I consumed these recipes several times throughout the summer may tell you that I liked these two recipes.  The fact that I took pictures of them tells you just how much.   For this week’s challenge I am sharing some summer food photos.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Food, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer

  1. I love your take on the summer challenge – you’re absolutely right summer’s usually way too hot and food – delicious, no- (or very little) cook recipes are what we need. Certainly I do, here in Sri Lanka!

    • Hi Wanderlust,

      Seasonal eating is best when it incorporates seasonal cooking techniques. Thanks for commenting. I am now prompted to investigate Sri Lankan cuisine. Any suggestions where to start my exploration? :)

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

      • I agree – it’s very difficult to transpose flavours without the techniques we associate with the original recipes.

        I was going to suggest my friend Mohara’s website, but it seems she didn’t finish getting it launched. Perhaps then, you should look at Charmaine Solomons – she has lots of Asian cook books, many with recipes from her native Sri Lanka.

        Bon appétit!

      • I’ve been thinking about what I’d tell you about Sri Lankan cooking – I think I’d better add it to the list of things I need to write a post about. Don’t hold your breath, but it’ll come …

        • Hi WG,

          A cooking post would be great, but as suggested I won’t hold my breath. Meanwhile, I was at the library today so I tried to find a cookbook by the author you recommended. Unfortunately there wasn’t anything in the catalogue by Ms. Solomons; instead I ordered a book called Sri Lankan flavours: a journey through the island’s food and culture by Channa Dassanayaka.

          I’m also going to checkout Chow Hound to see if there is any buzz about Sri Lankan restaurants in my area.

          Peace,
          ATreeGrowsinBklyn

          • Please let me know what the Dassanayake book is like. I’d be a little careful about the Sri Lankan restaurants: be sure they’re not just Indian restaurants serving what they call Sri Lankan – I encountered that a bit in Oz when I went back home a while back!

          • Thanks for the tip for my restaurant research.

            I put the book on hold yesterday afternoon. I’m not anticipating a “run” on that book; so I don’t think I’ll have to wait very long for it to be delivered to my local library branch. ;)

            Have a lovely weekend.

  2. eof737 says:

    Perfect choices for the summer… I’ll take the lemonade first. It has been hot and sticky lately. :-)

  3. The Guat says:

    I love how summer and food go together :)

  4. Mmmmm…l ight and yummy!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Summer « Mike Hardisty Photography

  6. Pingback: Summer To-Do’s « Thoughts Unrestricted

  7. Northern Narratives says:

    Looks very delicious!

  8. Touch2Touch says:

    The bruschetta looks good enough to eat (ha ha) –

    and the lemonade with the photos is one of the most evocative I’ve seen —
    Lemonade does conjure up hot summer days and childhood and family and the coolness of crystal.
    Brilliant!

    • Hee hee!

      I didn’t even pick up on the nostalgic quality of the lemonade photo until you mentioned it. In the background are few pictures of my ancestors. Despite the passage of time, they are ever present in spirit.

  9. Pingback: All the Parks a Stage in Summer: A Leisure for Less Post | atreegrowsinbklyn

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

