Roses are red…Sometimes

Hi F&F,

The borough of Brooklyn has a few nicknames – the borough of churches and the tree borough are just two examples that are appropriate to share in this “G” rated post. At this time of the year, it would be just as appropriate to bestow on Brooklyn the moniker – the borough of roses. Over the last few weeks, my daily comings and goings and midweek meandering has been suffused with color and infused with a sweet-smelling fragrance. It seems like anyone who has a smidgen of land has allocated a portion of it to a rose bush.

So in my best western/John Wayne imitation I say – Thank you; that’s a right neighborly thing to do and I’m beholden to you.

As I moseyed along, I remembered to stop and smell the roses and I took a few photos, too. For this post I have gathered “me” roses of May (apologies to Robert Louis Stevenson) to present you with a virtual bouquet… from Brooklyn with love.

Gather ye roses while ye may, Old time is still a-flying;

A world where beauty fleets away
Is no world for denying.

Come lads and lasses, fall to play
Lose no more time in sighing

The very flowers you pluck to-day
To-morrow will be dying;

And all the flowers are crying,

And all the leaves have tongues to say,-
Gather ye roses while ye may.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeRoseBushGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Daily Living, Outdoors, Photography, photos, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Roses are red…Sometimes

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    I can’t pick a favorite. I love all of them 🙂

    • Hi NN,

      Over the course of about 3 weeks I kept watching for all these interesting blossoms. I had a hard time picking my favorites too. That’s how I ended up taking so many pictures and posting so many pictures.

      I guess I went a little overboard. I’m glad you like the photos.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Thank you, Brooklyn — with love to you too!
    How lovely to walk down the streets with such beautiful sights and scents — and words to dream on —

    • Hi Touch,

      I don’t have a garden. I am dependent on the kindness of strangers for glimpses of nature. My post was a way to say a thank you and to spread the beauty. I’m glad you liked your Brooklyn bouquet.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn

  3. orples says:

    What a wonderful selection of roses. The only thing this post is missing is aroma. I’ll bet close up and personal, these roses really are delightful. 🙂

  4. eof737 says:

    Beautiful roses… love that pink one. 😉

  5. Roses (and lilacs) are so tied up with every spring and summer memory of my childhood. Even in the heart of the city there’s room for a bush or two!
    Love all your pics!!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

