Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship

Hi F&F,

It was a beautiful day. I saw them approach from the other side of the park. They walked side by side in perfect step; in a fashion that only comes from many years of practice. These two knew each other so well that there was no need for words, or a touch, or a gesture to communicate their final destination.  They headed directly to “their spot”; a spot a short distance from where I was sitting.  They sat on the grass.

The park was teeming with activity; good weather sparks that.  While others made a show, of their fun times and friendly relationships, with loud shouts and raucous and rambunctious play; these two held my attention because they were so peaceful together.  While others were engaged in bold PDA (public displays of affection) such as protracted and energetic petting, between this pair there was only a gentle tug on the ear and a brief shared nuzzle.  That companionable moment could have been easily missed, but I saw it.

Wordlessly, one of them took out their laptop and began to tap on the keys.  The other gazed out at the scene.  They sat with each other; present in each other’s presence – neither needing to be entertained or entertaining.  The epitome of friendship.

My dear old dog, most constant of all friends. – William Croswell Doane

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Daily Living, Life, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Friendship

  1. beautifully written, and really explores the depth of real friendship 🙂

    • Hi Craft Crazy Gran,

      I’m glad you liked the post. When I saw this pair it reminded me of some of what I value in my human friends – connection with out craft or artifice. Thanks so much for visiting and commenting.

      Peace,
      TreeGrowsinBklyn

  2. Ahhh…you warmed my heart this morning.

  3. hugmamma says:

    The best I’ve seen so far…the narrative…and then the photo. Perfectly charming! Great entry! I’m smiling…
    🙂

    • What a nice thing to say…now I’m smiling 🙂

      • hugmamma says:

        I tried to reblog your post on my blog. Don’t think it worked. May try again. Truly the best I’ve seen thus far. Keep smiling…you’re good, very good.
        🙂

        • hugmamma says:

          Sorry to say my second try at reblogging this didn’t work. I’ll just send people your way.
          🙂

          • Thanks for all your support. Have a nice weekend.

          • hugmamma says:

            You deserve to be read. You’re a good writer. Enjoy yours as well…Is it sunny where you are? Here in the Seattle area…the sun tends to play hide-and-go-seek.

            ;(

          • Thank you for all the encouragement.

            As for the weather in NYC – mostly it has been been sunny. Also, oddly, it’s been rather tropical. Each day we’ve been getting a brief (10-15 minutes) rain shower at 4:30ish. A few times the rain fell even as the sun was shining.
            Today, Saturday, was lovely; with the daytime sunny, warm and low humidity. The evening was cool and dry. The forecast for midweek is hot (90’s) and humid. Ugh

            I visited Seattle for the first time in January. It was a business trip. It was right after a rare snowstorm. It rained the entire time, but I came prepared and enjoyed the city very much.

          • hugmamma says:

            Having lived in NYC and Long Island about 20 years ago, we know what the humidity is like, especially in the subways and on the LIRR. We’re also very familiar with the snow and ice, since we moved from NY to Connecticut, where we lived for about 13 years. So I must admit that Seattle and its cool-ish weather is nothing by comparison. Still, I could do with a little more sun…and warmth.
            😦

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    Best friends on a summer day 🙂

  5. eof737 says:

    Yes, and that is what true friendship is… TY! 🙂

  6. Touch2Touch says:

    Oh, well done! And a lovely smile at the end to round it out —

  7. Moe says:

    Lovely…..made me miss my Zoe….

  8. Monique says:

    Beautifully written and illustrated. Peace.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

