Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

Hi F&F,

To some folks a rubber stamp is a bad thing. It suggests red tape, inefficiency and bureaucracy.  To crafty folks a rubber stamp is a good thing. For want-to-be artists with lots of enthusiasm and no talent (me), a rubber stamp is a great thing. With a rubber stamp even the artistically challenged can create tolerable art.

In its natural state gum elastic (rubber) was a natural product with potential, but because it was expensive, scarce and behaved erratically; with any change in temperature, it was difficult to manufacture and had limited use.  Thanks to Mr. Charles Goodyear’s happy accident in his wife’s kitchen, he discovered that: gum elastic + sulphur + heat = flexible temperature resistant rubber.  The process was called vulcanization (Note: Mr. Goodyear was not a Trekkie.  His term was an abstraction of the name of the Roman god of fire – Vulcan).

The first rubber stamps were used by businesses to mark parcels and manufactured products. Rubber stamping as a hobby gained popularity in the 1970’s and really exploded in the 1990’s with the scrapbook craze. Today, there are thousands of unique stamp designs. You can create personalized stationery, wrapping paper and notecards with rubber stamps.  You can also use them to create home decor that is distinctive by stamping your walls, lampshades, curtains, linens and more.   You will have a “stamptastic” time!

For this week’s photo challenge I’m sharing a few images from Casey Rubber Stamps in the East Village. I visited the shop one evening and picked up an art nouveau inspired letter “A”.  Now I’m jonesing for one of their, simply amazing, Brooklyn Bridge stamps. I’m also eyeing a few of their tree stamps. I’m sure you see where this is going.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, arts and crafts, crafts, Photo, Photography, photos, postaweek2012, shopping, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Create

  1. truthbetold says:

    Hmmm…I have many stencils that I use to decorate my house. I never used stamps before but you’re making me want one.

    • If you like stenciling you will like stamping. Be sure to check out the link to the shop’s website in the post. The variety of rubber stamp themes/images is simply remarkable. Also, the stamps, themselves, are interesting to look at. When not it use my little “A” stamp is going to live on display in my bookcase.

  2. ….and places like stamp stores are why i miss the citylife EVERY single day!! help me live vicariously…..what other little specialty shops have you frequented of late?

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of stamps. What a cool place 🙂

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Great post! Already creative, with those wonderful photos, before one rubber stamp has even made its mark —

    • Thank you!
      These are the first few pictures I’ve taken with my new smartphone (the romance books for last week’s photo challenge were also taken with the smartphone). The phone’s camera has more pixels than my digital camera. I’m impressed with the quality the images.

      I could have spent all evening browsing and snapping pictures in that tiny shop. Everything (and everyone) my eye landed on screamed for attention. Alas, we were headed for dessert at Veniero’s Pasticceria and Caffe. One must always keep their priorities straight. 😉

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

