Mother and Motherboard Issues are preventing Posts

Hi F&F,

It has been a long stretch without a post. I’m missing this outlet for my thoughts, but circumstances, time and technology have kind of conspired against me of late.

On the home front my mom (Mom, inc) had to have serious emergency back surgery. It’s far to complex to tap out on my smartphone keyboard, l will just say that the procedure and the possible outcomes could have been as distressing as the problem that needed to be solved.

We are 48 hours post surgery and she has good use of her limbs, but she is weakened after 5 days in bed. Physical therapy has been introduced and it’s painful yet very necessary.  I have bribed offered her a trip to Hawaii, her favorite place in the world, as a dangling carrot. I’m confident you will be reading posts from either Maui (her choice) or Kaui (my choice) in the near future.

Beyond my own mother’s health issues, I’ve been prevented from posting to the blog because the motherboard of my laptop needed emergency “surgery”. It’s been 7 days and it’s still not ready for the recovery room or discharge.

Eager to provide you with information on my sudden disappearance, I’m using the WordPress app on my smartphone. The feel of it is pretty good and I hope it looks good on a full screen.

I hope to have mother and motherboard fully operational soon. In the meantime I ask you to read some of my early posts. Think of them like the summer reruns on television; only better; I hope.

Peace,
ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Daily Living, Life, Technology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mother and Motherboard Issues are preventing Posts

  1. I’ll say a prayer for her and you with a speedy recovery. Hawaii sounds wonderful!

  2. I KNEW something was amiss! (I actually checked your blog a few times, thinking I’d missed an email about your posts)
    Back surgery is such a tricky thing, but I’m sure she had access to excellent surgeons there. I’ll hold good thoughts for a complication-free recovery….in Hawaii!

    • I’ve tried to get a regular posting schedule. I’m so touched that you would notice its absence. I am ever amazed at the complexity of the human body and its ability to malfunction on a grand scale and yet be tepaired, rewired and renewed to keep chugging along.

  3. Northern Narratives says:

    Best wishes to your mother for a speedy recovery 🙂

  4. Keith says:

    Sorry to hear – get well soon, mom! I’m sure the fresh air of Hawaii will help.

    • Hi Keith,

      Thanks for the good wishes. I shared them with my mom. She is tickled that you would send her a message. I told her how we connected through blogging. Also, she has read a few of your blog posts. She was born and raised in Brooklyn so your blog is very interesting and engaging for her.

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    Mom Inc. has to be one tough lady — look at her offspring! — so she’s gonna be good.
    Sending prayers, wishes, vibes all your way (both your ways).
    Hawaii is a powerful incentive. Smart move, Tree!
    (First you fix the mother, then get the motherboard to shape up and fall in line.)
    xoxoxoxoxo

    • Mom, inc is made of good stuff. She is a designer original and I’m am a knock off; a well done knock off for sure, but not nearly the same quality of character.

      Thanks for your support. Our arms are wide open and receiving all of the blessings.

      Peace,
      Adrienne

  6. Monique says:

    Glad to hear Mom is doing much better. Thank God that she has a great daughter with the character to care and admire her.

    • Hi Monique, Thanks for stopping by and leaving a thoughtful comment. Sorry to say I’m still without a computer. I will buy a new one but I’ve got a case of “to much analysis causes paralysis”. Meanwhile mom’s birthday is August the 13th and we are so grateful for that. We will be facing more health issues in the future, but you know grace is found when you stay fully in the present and in the presence of God. Peace to you and your lovely family, Adrienne

  7. hugmamma says:

    Sorry to hear about both…mother…and motherboard. A Hawaiian vacation will do wonders. Recently returned from memorial services for my mother-in-law who passed. Wonderful celebration of her life…and relaxing time with family.

    …enjoy your time in the sun…and recover quickly…both! 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

