Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

Hi F&F,

Early this morning, before breakfast and well before lunchtime, I thought that today would be a good day to re-enter the WordPress waters.

As you may have noticed, I’ve been quiet.  I guess, you could say ATreeGrowsinBklyn has been in a period of dormancy. That statement is not entirely correct. Since I’ve been away from this blog, I’ve been super-duper, 3-D, living color, wide-awake and fully engaged. I guess, you could say “Tree”, the amateur blogger, has been experiencing a kind of emotional, spiritual and intellectual growth spurt, complete with the growing pains related to rapid development.

It takes a lot of energy to grow and human energy is a precious and finite resource. I needed to conserve my energy and expend it in the areas of my life that needed the most care and attention.  The blog dropped off my priority list.

Now, I’m feeling like I have a small reserve of energy that can be discharged for the blog. I’d like to make some noise (really just a peep) on this blog; once again, adding my voice to the blogosphere glee club. The problem I’m facing is my (writing) voice sounds reedy, tremulous and out of tune to my ears.  How do I warm up? How do I get my chops back?

I sat at the laptop for several minutes without an idea; not a single word added to the screen. I was just about to shut down my computer and give up my hope to write a post, when I decided to look to WordPress for inspiration. While browsing, I was re-introduced to the Weekly Photo Challenge. Hooray!

My reasoning – since I can’t seem to put down one word for a post; I’ll try putting down 1,000 words; in the form of a photo – as in “a picture is worth a 1,000 words”.

So here I am, diving into the WordPress waters with a photo for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime.  This is a baby step for me – or to continue with the water imagery – I’m dog paddling. It “ain’t” pretty, but it will be fun and refreshing to splash around and show off my bathing suit.

It offers me a place to start and the subject is a good one for me. If you have ever visited my blog in the past (thanks!) you know I’m not shy about sprinkling my posts with the “f” word – FOOD. In fact when I looked at some of my previous photo challenge posts, it’s curious how I managed to use food as the subject for several of my entries.

Click on the highlighted links to take a peek at my entries for the themes of hot, between and colorful.

If this is your first visit to my blog – welcome! You need to know, I am a native New Yorker and New Yorkers know pizza.  Grabbing “a slice” at lunchtime is a popular, quick, cheap-eat. It’s often consumed solo, while standing up at a counter, in a joint so tiny you feel a blast of heat each time the pizza guy opens the oven.

For this week’s entry I’m serving up a pair of large pizza pies from Il Porto Restaurant – perfect for communal dinning. These pies were enjoyed at lunchtime, at work, with my co-workers. We are a fun friendly group, yet we rarely have an opportunity to break bread, chew the fat, and build our small work community over a meal.  It’s nourishing in so many ways.

This entry isn’t, particularly, clever. I’m simply glad to be sharing with the WordPress community.  Pull up a chair and dig in. Buon appetito!

The Classic Margherita - Mozzarella, basil, olive oil and tomato sauce

The Classic Margherita – Mozzarella, basil, olive oil and tomato sauce

Navy Yard Pizza

The Navy Yard Pizza – pesto, sopressata, mozzarella

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Food, Life, Photo, Photography, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Lunchtime

  1. Touch2Touch says:

    Oops, shouldn’t have looked at these before lunchtime with nothing moving forward in the kitchen!
    You can take all the time in the world getting wet again. Fear not. Those fingers haven’t lost their cunning. Thanks for stopping by my blog, and I am THRILLED you’re back.
    How can one get a sense of the virtual world without a representative from Brooklyn?

  2. OMG…pizza…..I haven’t had pizza that thin and good since 2009 when I left Boston. (not enough ethnicities or Italians here for anything REMOTELY as great!!)
    So happy to see your post among my WP alerts today. Glad you’re back! 🙂

    • Thin pizza is yummy and can be connected to place. I used to only think of “terroir” only as it applied to wine and cheese, but it really can apply to any food.

      Thanks for commenting.

  3. Moe says:

    Welcome back Tree!! Your bathing suit looks cute and that pizza looks delicious. 🙂

  4. eof737 says:

    Welcome back to blogging! Funny that as you return, I’m on a bit of hiatus… Just too much going on offline and only so much energy to spread around… Will get back on track soon. 😉
    Eliz

  5. pix & kardz says:

    i just noticed that you are back! you are probably feeling quite at home again in blog-land, but just wanted to say welcome once again. happy blogging! and by the way, that second pizza is a work of art! thanks for sharing.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

