Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

Hi F&F,

I’ve been enjoying the many submissions for this week’s photo challenge – color.  I noticed that lots of folks looked up for color; sharing images of the sky in azure, cerulean, and cornflower. Even more people cast their gaze downward; capturing images of the flashiest flora sprouting from the soil.

I too looked down (way down) for my inspiration for this challenge.  I found my shot of color underground, in the New York City subway system. It may seem like an unlikely place to find a photo worthy of this challenge, but in actuality, the transportation system is suffused with hues beyond the black and gray one would expect from a subterranean transportation system, that has been serving millions of people 24 hours day/7 days a week; for over 100 years.

Here are my photos for the Weekly Photo Challenge – Color.

The first photo is of a glass mosaic at the 42nd street – Port Authority subway station.  It was created by Lisa Dinhofer and it is just one of the art installations that can be found at station stops throughout the subway system. It’s all courtesy of the Metropolitan Transit Authority’s Art for Transit and Urban Design program. Click HERE to learn about the program and see more of New York’s underground art exhibit. It demonstrates that the city is an art capital to its very core.

subway art marbles short view

I also, owe my second entry for this challenge to the MTA and to an intense moment of downheartedness.  This photo is of a very distorted view (via an Instagram special effect) of the Tang colored interior (that’s the real color) of an R68A class subway car.  This picture was taken while I was on my way to see my dying mother. I was alone in the train car for several stops.  I was suddenly awash in feelings of anxiety. At each stop I was tempted to bolt, yet at the same time I was keen to see how I’d manage these feelings. I felt like I was both the participant and the observer of this situation. I took a picture.

In hindsight, I think I pulled out my cellphone to take the picture because I hoped the phone would act as a witness.  I think I was expecting to be able to capture some image as tangible evidence, of my pulsating anxiety. Of course, to my disappointment the picture revealed nothing.  Thankfully, that feeling was fleeting yet I’m glad that I was able to approximate my feelings visually. I call it Subway Anxiety and I think of it as my version of The Scream.

Subway Anxiety

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, Challenge, Daily Living, new york city, Photography, photos, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Color

  1. Hello Atree

    Can you please contact me via my personal email address?

  2. Awesome post. Welcome back. You’ve been missed. 😉

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    Fantastic! Of course the art “exhibit” at the station is delightful and uplifting.
    But your own “subway scream” is a true work of art, Adrienne!
    What a capture — the color AND the craziness. Well done, and a thousand welcomes back.

  4. Pingback: 4-11-13 Weekly Photo Challenge: (Once More With Feeling) Yellow | The Quotidian Hudson

  5. Pingback: 4-11-13 Weekly Photo Challenge: (Once More With Feeling) Yellow | The Quotidian Hudson

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Color | Flickr Comments

  7. The mosaics of the subway stations fascinated me when we were in NYC over Christmas — I didn’t have a chance to see that elaborate one at 42nd.

  8. ilargia64 says:

    Hi Adrienne!!!
    Love your “Cry”
    I think it is an incredible work of art!
    My congratulations!
    And thanks for visiting my place!

  9. pix & kardz says:

    what a poignant post. i can so relate about travelling to visit a dying parent. such mixed feelings….. i am sure you will never regret the time you were able to spend to be there for your mother. and now, bless you as you continue to travel on the other side of those unspeakable and yet memorable moments back then, emerging and reconnecting, regaining strength, a day at a time.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

