Leisure for Less: Art Museum Day is May 18th

Hi F&F,

The Association of Art Museum Directors and it’s member museums will be hosting Art Museum Day. Saturday, May 18th, museums from Arizona to Wyoming will be offering free or reduced admission fees and special programs in “an international celebration of the importance of museums in our world”.

framed museum image

The 2013 theme is Museums (Memory + Creativity) = Social Change.  In order to expand the museum going community and cultivate engagement, participants are being encouraged to share their experiences with the institutions and with their social circle, by posting to social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Pinterest.  Click HERE to get the full list of AAMD Member Museums celebrating Art Museum Day 2013. 

Click HERE to link to  information for the International  Museum Day celebration. You will find listings for participating institutions from Africa to Oceania. 

Be sure to share this information with others so they can enjoy enriching culture for less. 

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

 

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Art, cheap, Culture, frugality, fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Leisure for Less: Art Museum Day is May 18th

  1. What a fantastic initiative – and a welcome post! I was sad to see that our Museum here in Sri Lanka is not participating – I’ve made a note of the link and the manifesto and will at some stage write a letter to the museum – and the government – suggesting it’s time for our cultural institutions to play their part in the development of the country – it’s not just weapons and military victories that build nations.

    • It is unfortunate that you won’t be able to participate in this event. Communication is a central theme/mission of the day. Your actions will encourage the institution to consider new ways that they can contribute to the development of the country.

  2. Pingback: International Museum Day | As Time Goes...Buy

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

