Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape

Hi F&F,

For this week’s photo challenge: escape, I’m posting a few photos of the Metro Tech Commons (MTC) located in Downtown Brooklyn. It stands in the center of Brooklyn’s business district which boasts more than 17 million square feet of office space. It is home to such business as Bear Stearns, JPMorgan Chase and the Securities Industry Automation Corporation (SIAC).

Thousands of people work in the high-rise buildings and at lunchtime thousands of them escape the confines of those offices. They flee the fluorescent lights and canned air and head for the sunlight and fresh (relatively speaking) air of the 3.5 acre privately owned public space.

The Metro Tech Commons (MTC) and places like it are a God New York City Department of City Planning send to urban dwellers. It is all thanks to the 1961 Zoning Resolution. The resolution attempts to make a more livable and more loveable city. One of the features of the 1961 Zoning Resolution is an incentive program that encourages developers to include open space such as plazas, courts and yards in their design.

I think the concepts of the zoning resolution are filled with good intentions, but unfortunately execution of the decree by developers can be hit or miss. My photos show the MTC on a fine weekday afternoon, when the green space was in full swing. On the weekends the commons are commonly deserted. On this day folks flocked to the eating establishments that surround the area. Most took their lunch to go; so they could go sit under the arching trees. A midday escape to recharge the batteries for the 2nd half of the day.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Daily Living, new york city, Photography, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Escape

  1. Sonel says:

    A lovely escape indeed. Great shots and thanks for sharing. 🙂

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

