Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

Hi F&F,

I took the picture in order to capture the stillness and starkness of the pre-party scene. In just a few moments the setting would be transformed into a joyous and lively celebration.

I expected the crisp white linen, shiny glassware and the wine bottles would be the most interesting elements in the finished photo. In actuality, when I look at the photo, my eye is always drawn to what is outside of the room. My eye is drawn through the pristine window to the shabby building with the boarded-up windows across the street; in the background.

Pre-party peace

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Photography, photos, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background

  1. mithriluna says:

    What a lovely picture.

  2. That is a wonderful photo and does capture the stillness of both the pre party and the emptiness of the building.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In The Background | My Tropical Home

  4. Sonel says:

    An excellent capture for the challenge! Great shot and thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. yowzaa!!
    I know it’s early in the challenge week, but it will be tough to see a submission that tops this one!
    Wicked cool idea and shot…doing it in black and white really pops my cork!
    🙂

  6. Touch2Touch says:

    Exceptional shot, Tree. Abstract design, cool in every area possible —
    And sophisticated response to the Challenge as well. Way to go —

  7. This is a good example of the prompt.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

