A Leisure for Less Post: Walt Whitman in Brooklyn

Steel engraving of Walt Whitman. Published in ...

Steel engraving of Walt Whitman. Published in 1855 edition of Leaves of Grass (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi F&F,

Brooklyn has a rich literary history. Many noteworthy authors have called Kings County home and even more have found the place inspiring.  Walt Whitman falls into both camps. The great American poet once lived in the borough and his famous collection of poems, Leaves of Grass, was written here (just a few short blocks from where I live). And, of course, there is his poem “Crossing Brooklyn Ferry”.

Walt Whitman was born May 31, 1819. Last Friday marked the 194th anniversary of his birth. That evening I joined with others to celebrate his life, work and the borough of Brooklyn by taking a walking tour of his old stomping grounds. The route included many stops; punctuated with readings from is work.  The celebration is continuing on Saturday and it is a “Leisure for Less” worthy event because poetry should be heard and shared. Also, this event gives you a chance to be a spectator and a participant.  Lastly, this event is “Leisure for Less” worthy because –

Poetry lifts the veil from the hidden beauty of the world, and makes familiar objects be as if they were not familiar.

Percy Bysshe Shelley

And who couldn’t benefit from that kind of experience.

Here are the details:

What:                    Walt Whitman in the Afternoon

The Whitman Project presents a reading of Walt Whitman’s Brooklyn-related work, including The Centenarian’s Story; related musical selections performed by contralto Nicole Mitchell; a presentation of Whitman memorabilia by collector Ed Centeno; and an open audience reading of their favorite Whitman pieces.

When:                  June 8, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Where:                 Proteus Gowanus

 534 Union Street/Corner of Nevins (Enter down the alleyway off Nevins)

Admission:          $5.00

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Culture, frugality, fun, History, Performing Arts, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Leisure for Less Post: Walt Whitman in Brooklyn

  1. Surely the test of literature is perhaps, whether we who read it live more intensely for the reading of it.

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    He was certainly handsome, something I hadn’t realized. I kind of thought he was always old and bearded, but obviously not so.

    • Yes, the image of him when he was old is very common, yet the picture in my post is the one used in the first edition of Leaves of Grass. In that self-published first edition he is only identified by the picture. He did not included his name in the volume of poems.

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    That’s amazing! I always thought he was a giant ego. Maybe so, maybe no!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

