Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow

Hi F&F,

We all hope that there is light at the end of the tunnel. Some of us wait for the light patiently.  And others of us wait for the light anxiously.

Seeking the light at the end of the tunnel can be a dangerous thing. That is, especially, true when the light you are longing for is the headlight of a train and the tunnel is a subway tunnel. In this case, patience is not only a virtue, but it can also be a lifesaver.

Before the installation of Public Address Customer Information Screens (PA/CIS) system, many New Yorkers played a dangerous game of chicken as part of their daily commute. Anxious and impatient people would inch precariously close to the edge of the train platform and then lean over the side to look down the tunnel. I often wondered at the idiocy. Did these people believe that leaning and looking hastened the train’s arrival?

The PA/CIS are in many stations and they foreshadow the arrival of the next train(s) in the station.  I think it is helping to keep a few edgy folks away from the platform edge.

Public Address Customer Information Screen

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, new york city, Photography, photos, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreshadow

  1. Keith says:

    Nice pic! Where is this? Atlantic?

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    You mean leaning and looking DOESN’T hurry up the train?
    😉

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

