The Museum at Eldridge Street Tour

Hi F&F,

Nearly 20 million dollars and 20 years of work by architects, artisans and craftsmen went into the restoration of the Eldridge Street Synagogue. The Moorish and Romanesque edifice was a place of worship and a community hub for many of the Eastern European Jews who settled on the Lower East Side (LES) of Manhattan in the 1880’s.

By the 1940’s many people fled the city to the suburbs. The congregation dwindled. Those that remained were unable to finance the upkeep of the grand house of worship.  Unable to make repairs and heat the huge space, the main sanctuary was sealed and services were moved to a smaller space on the lower level.

In the 1980’s civic-minded citizens and congregants formed the non-sectarian Eldridge Street Project to garner support and raise money for the restoration of the building. The synagogue was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1996 and the restoration was completed in 2007. Today, the Eldridge Street Synagogue remains a place of worship for its small congregation and it is the site of the Museum at Eldridge Street.

History, architecture, culture, community and faith are all subjects explored at the Museum at Eldridge Street. A significant facet of the story is the immigrant experience. Today the neighborhood is still a gateway for immigrants. The vast majority of immigrants to the LES are from China, accounting for over 20% of the neighborhood’s total immigrant population. As you make your way to the museum through the streets of the LES, it doesn’t take a great stretch of  imagination to envision what the vibe of the community must have been like 125 years ago. The faces in the street have changed and the languages spoken on the street and posted on the storefronts is different, yet I suspect many of the motivations and experiences are similar and universally relatable.

Here are a few photos from my visit to the Museum at Eldridge Street.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Shalom,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, History, new york city, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Museum at Eldridge Street Tour

  1. Thanks for taking me somewhere inaccessible now I’m a would be traveller content with a more static way of life, although in my imagination, I can still fly anywhere.

    • Hey Maureen,

      I just found your message in the spam bin. I’m so sorry about that. You are so very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed the field trip. 🙂 Trips from the comfort of an armchair can be wonderful. I think some of my favorite magazines, blogs and websites are travel related.

      Fly high, missy!!

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn (Adrienne)

  2. Maria says:

    Hi, I recently did this tour as well and enjoyed it. You give a very nice description of the place and the Background!
    Maria

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

