Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

Hi F&F,

My week has been so focused on work; I wasn’t able to focus much time on this challenge. Fortunately or unfortunately (your call), I’m currently hording over 1,000 pictures on my cell phone.  It’s nice to have a forum to give these shots their shot at a few moments of big (computer) screen time.

Summertime is usually when the big blockbuster special effects laden films hit the theaters.  Summer is waning, but in the spirit of big budget summertime movies, my challenge entry is in the form of a slideshow. Its my no budget cinematic special effect. All of the pictures were created by applying a little high-tech wizardry. I used a smartphone app called AfterFocus. The app lets you simulate a wide aperture effect with your cell phone camera.

Upon close inspection my edited images can’t compete with those created with a full function film or digital camera; yet AfterFocus isolates subjects from the background well enough to demonstrate how depth of field can impact the look and feel of  your pictures.

There is a saying “the best camera is the one you have with you”. For many of us, our best camera is usually our cell phone camera.  I think AfterFocus is a nice app to have with you to make your best camera a little better.

Here is my entry for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Photography, Uncategorized, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

