Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon

Hi F&F,

The Weekly Photo Challenge was horizon.  The post issuing the challenge defined the horizon as “where the sky meets the earth”.  I’m fascinated by all the different places where the sky meets the earth.  I imagine some of the meetings, of earth and sky to be like a rom/com; a classic “meet cute”; and others to be very contentious affairs, like a summit meeting between 2 warring nations.

 I imagine where the sky meets the earth, say, at a wheat field; is a get together that is warm and gently yielding; the sky and the earth complementary and companionable.  On the other hand, city encounters must be like a battle of wills; a kind of real estate and firmament grab. The sky desperately attempting to assert its presence so as not to be blotted out by an ever-changing landscape of massive and inelegant architecture.  Aggressively designed and unbelievably tall towers thrusting upward trying to stake a claim and garner attention from above and below.

Here are a few horizons that I hazarded to capture.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photography, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Horizon

  1. Bella says:

    Oh, how I love these! The black and white intensifies the drama–and it has me creating stories over what happened in such places! 🙂

    • Hi Bella,

      What a wonderful complement. It makes me happy to think these photos incite imagination. Let me know if you write and post a story inspired by a photo. I would love to read it and link to it.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrowsinBklyn (Adrienne)

  2. Touch2Touch says:

    Really nice long shots in a genre I personally find very difficult. But it’s obviously congenial for you!

    • It’s interesting, but when I first took up a camera, I always went for the close-up. Recently, I’ve developed an appreciation for the big picture. I think this change in perspective applies to my photography and to my daily living. 😉

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

