Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

Hi F&F,

Here is my entry for the Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie.  The first photo was taken just days before Halloween. The decoration committee of my apartment building decided to adorn the elegant Japanese maple tree in our front garden with a cheap ornament. It was neither a trick or a treat. I found it was more ghastly than ghostly. It was horrific, but not eerie.

Ghost

It may be hard to believe, but the photo below was taken on a beautiful and bright summer day. It is a picture of the ruins of the Smallpox Hospital on Roosevelt Island, NY.  The structure appears to be crumbling and in a shambles, but in fact work is being done to stabilize the remaining walls. So, really, on that day it wasn’t so very eerie.

The Smallpox Hospital Ruin on Roosevelt Island

To create a suitable entry, I made the ruins look more ruinous and the kitschy ghost look more ghostlike, with the help of some photo editing.  Without some tweaking these shots would cause nary a fright.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. vastlycurious.com says:

    Yes but the effects are cool! Nice work !

  2. This week’s topic is extremely difficult! I think you did a great job bringing both shots into “eerie” mode, esp the Smallpox Hosp. The sky looks creepy, as do the ivy plants climbing the walls.
    I’m curious–you say they’re stabilizing the walls there. Is it part of an overall reconstruction of the entire building and if so, to what end: condos? offices?

    • The building was given landmark status in the mid 70’s. It is designated a “picturesque ruin”; and as such the building is deemed beyond restoration. The intention is to reinforce the remaining walls (many have collapsed over the years) and protect the structure from further deterioration. The ruins are located at the southern tip of Roosevelt Island; adjacent to the newly completed Four Freedoms Park; a memorial to Franklin Delano Roosevelt. It is an absolutely beautiful setting.

      The picture I posted was from my cellphone, but I did take more shots of the gothic ruin and the park with my camera. I will try to download them and see if they are ok for a blog post or I’ll just add them to my clicks and clacks page.

      Thanks so much for your interest. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie Tomb | Processing the life

  4. Moe says:

    wow..that smallpox hospital pic is eerie (ivy and clouds can be scary!) lol.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

