Canstruction New York 2013

Hi F&F,

Last week I got off my can and made my way to the Winter Garden Brookfield Place for this year’s Canstruction New YorkCanstruction is a charity focused on hunger relief.  Across the country and around the world design, engineering and construction professionals use their skills to design and   construct large-scale displays made entirely of full cans of food.  The public is invited to view and enjoy the extraordinary exhibit, and in return; donate a can of food and vote for their favorite entry.  Additionally, the unusual building blocks of canned food are donated to local food banks.

Here are a few photos from the New York City event and a few facts about hunger in the United States of America.

Canstruction will be on view through November, 13th.  

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Culture, Events, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Canstruction New York 2013

  1. Quite incredible constructions highlighting such an important issue.

  2. vastlycurious.com says:

    LOVE THIS! Thanks for sharing!

  3. chrisstov says:

    What a lovely idea. It must have taken a long time to construct those exhibits.

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Some people are so creative, nothing is “waste” or “junk” for them!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

