Giving the Old Year the Boot and Entering the New Year in Flats

Happy New Year F & F!

It’s the second week of the New Year and I realize, to some, it may seem a bit late in the game for that greeting, but I feel there should never be a statute of limitations put on wishing friends, neighbors, and strangers good fortune. So again –

 new year banner 2014 image

This is my first blog post in 2014. This blog’s been quiet for the last few weeks because I’ve been quiet for the last few weeks. I had a little accident; that resulted in a little broken bone; the sesamoid bone of my right foot; to be exact. The little bone had a big impact and necessitated wearing a big boot.

Me and my boot waiting for a flight to FL.

Me and my boot waiting for a flight to FL.

I know the first rule of blogging is to have a theme or focus, but this blog is unfocused.  This blog is a lot like a refrigerator door covered with magnets; tacking up all kinds of scarps.  A random collection of words, pictures and shiny objects that have caught my eye while wandering through my day-to-day life. With my wondering greatly curtailed, blog content was cut off. I haven’t been anywhere to pick up any scraps worth sharing.

My toe and I have been itching to get back into action (my toe really has been itching and it is driving me crazy!).

Fate and klutziness forced me onto the sidelines.  I’ve been sitting on the bench and sitting on my ass with my foot elevated, but I’ve not been sitting on my hands and idle.  A few years ago it was klutziness that introduced me to crochet and knitting (a pseudo-Jones fracture of the left foot) and klutziness has brought me back to crafting. While sidelined I’ve picked up my hook and needles and dived into my  yarn stash. Below are a few pictures of the projects that helped me pass the time.

 

In addition to stitching, I used the time to read some frothy fiction for the pure pleasure of it. I revisited Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey (my least favorite of her works) and Persuasion (her least frothy and my favorite of her works). For a contemporary note, I am currently reading Josh Bozell’s second novel; the sequel to Beat the Reaper; Wild Thing (it is wildly entertaining).

 For more passive and less productive pursuits, thanks to Netflix, I’ve gotten acquainted with the BBC TV series Call the Midwife (15 episodes) and reacquainted with the West Wing (156 episodes) and Life (32 episodes).

I’m happy to say, earlier this week, the Orthopedist, authorized me to give the ugly protective boot the boot. Now I’m taking my first wobbly baby steps in my ugly hard soled flat shoes. It feels good to work the muscles. I’ve been advised to take it  slow. I’ll apply that advice to my walking and blogging.

Happy New Year,

ATreeHealsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Daily Living, Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Giving the Old Year the Boot and Entering the New Year in Flats

  1. Welcome back to blogging, A! Sorry to hear about the foot, but I have no doubts 2014 will be a great year for you.

    Keith

  2. Ah, yes, the Darth Vader Boot…been there, done that! Enjoy your freedom from it. I look forward to seeing more images from your wandering. 😉 Happy new year!

  3. Happy New Year to you, too!
    You were in Florida recently? What part? If it was anywhere near Vero Beach we could have met for coffee or something!
    My ex is an orthopedic surgeon–>he always said breaking a bone anywhere in your foot was as debilitating as breaking your leg in three spots. If I remember correctly, it has something to do with a high concentration of tendons in the foot, Anyway…..I’m glad you’re on the mend!

    • Happy New Year!!

      I was in Orlando for a mini vacation. It is in the center of the state so I’m guessing it is far from the beach area. I will give you a heads-up the next time a take a trip to the area. It would be so great to connect in the real world. 🙂

      For sure, the foot has been a challenge, and yes the tendons and ligaments make for a complex healing environment. I’m on the mends and grateful I can put one foot in front of the other; even if not a quickly.

      Peace,
      ATreeGrows(Stronger)inBklyn

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    I have no good excuse like a broken foot bone to account for my absence from my blog and the blogosphere. It’s the Polar Vortex, it’s frozen my brain — and there’s no boot for that LOL.
    I love your sign-offs!
    And the happiest of new years to you —

  5. pix & kardz says:

    i am so late in visiting here – but will accept your new year’s greetings even at this late date. so sorry to hear about your foot. i trust it is recovering – has recovered – by now. do take care!

    • pix & kardz says:

      forgot to say: 1) i am a Jane Austen fan. it has been far too long since reading any of her novels to say which ones are my favourite. Pride & Prejudice was a must-read while in university, and it got me hooked.
       
      2) your knitting (i am assuming it is knitting in all three cases? please advise if not) is gorgeous. something i have not yet learned.

      • Thanks so much for saying hi and sharing your fondness for Jane Austen. I think Pride & Prejudice was the work that hooked many a reader.

        And speaking of hooks; the cowl was made with a crochet hook. The sweater and scarf were knit.

        This winter has been so harsh. I’m hopeful that the spring thaw will apply to both me and this blog.

        Be well!!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

