Weekly Photo Challenge: Window or Catching a Glow at The Kings County Distillery

Hi F&F,

I’m back on my feet, but moving at a slower pace. This is my excuse (and I’m sticking to it) for the late response to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Window.

My entry for the challenge was a result of a work related field trip to the Kings County Distillery.   The visit was an education on the process of distilling whisky and it was a bit of an American history lesson too. You might say it was a lesson on the American spirit under the influence of spirits.

The Kings County Distillery is located in the former Paymasters Building on the grounds of the Brooklyn Navy Yard.  The adaptively reused building, also known as #121, was constructed in 1899. While the space accommodates its new tenant and new function very well; it still retains many of its original details.

Much of the production process at the distillery takes place on the ground floor. The aging process takes place on the second floor. That second floor space is where the magic happens; elevating hundreds of barrels of whiskey to bourbon. The room where it all happens is equally as magical as what’s taking place inside the barrels. The room glows.  The building’s  large windows let in a light that enlivened the brick walls, rough-hewn floor planks and the wooden barrels.

Take a sip look at these shots.

The Brunished Barrels of The Kings County Distillery

Aviary Photo_130345351314315108

B&W ,but not Blah

Cheers,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

P.S. I sampled the moonshine, bourbon and their unique “chocolate flavored” whiskey; for educational enrichment and medicinal purposes only. 🙂

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Photography, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Window or Catching a Glow at The Kings County Distillery

  1. Why can’t we move slow through live, like whiskey ageing gracefully in a barrel? Love the pictures!

  2. How was the chocolate-flavored whiskey? The barrel photo is really nice in B&W!

  3. Touch2Touch says:

    You’ve certainly DISTILLED the essence of this experience.
    Those photos are beautiful!
    (I don’t know about you and your reader, but I’m aging pretty gracefully, thanks! Developing quite a patina, just like the barrels and the bronze 😉

    • Haha! Aging with grace is exactly what I’m aiming for; and as for patina; I was born bronze. Now I want to be golden in my golden years; with platinum hair. Just give me all the precious metals. 😉

  4. Touch2Touch says:

    Don’t have an email address, so this is the only way I can think of to let you know (in case you don’t already) that today’s NY Times, Art Section, has a front page article that includes your nabe! Really interesting, by Michael Kimmelman, who is always interesting, about streetcars! Brooklyn had ’em when I was young, and I always thought they were a good idea. He’s proposing a street car route to connect points in Brooklyn and Queens and I liked the article AND the idea.
    Hope all is well with you, even if you’re not blogging for the moment —
    love and all that other good stuff, Judith

  5. Trust you are keeping well. Has your foot been mending? Hope you had a good Christmas and all the very best to you for the New Year!

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.

