YWCA’s Week Without Violence is October 14-20

Hi F&F,

Last week I shared news on 2 projects associated with the observation of Domestic Violence Awareness Month. This week I’m reblogging a post from the World Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) Blog.  The YWCA has always been an advocate for women and a champion of causes that can benefit them. Check out their recent post on 2 of their projects; the Purple Purse Campaign and the annual Week Without Violence initiative.

Click here to read the original YMCA Blog post: It’s Here! Pass the Purse and Join our Week Without Violence 

In partnership with the Allstate Foundation, the Purple Purse Campaign is a 2 pronged approach to addressing the issue of domestic violence. Firstly, the campaign seeks to encourage conversation within communities.  This type of violence is often hidden and the subject is seldom openly discussed. It is the belief that communities that can openly communicate about this issue can become safer communities for women. Secondly, the campaign is seeking to raise money for the YWCA programs providing supportive services that help “women regain safety and strength”.

YWCA’s Week Without Violence is October 14-20, 2013. This week and throughout the month of October, YWCAs across the country will be hosting art exhibits and performances; distributing educational material and facilitating workshops with a focus on ending the violence. In my area, on Tuesday the 22nd the Brooklyn YWCA and Connect NYC will co-host a talk – The Other Half of the Sky: The Role of Men in Ending Violence Against Women. 

Click Here to read It’s Here! Pass the Purse and Join our Week Without Violence

Peace, protection, and healthy relationships,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in Daily Living, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.