Happy Birthday Theodore Roosevelt!

Hi F&F,

This is a 5A_theodore-rooseveltquick post because; I just connected with the fact that today is Theodore Roosevelt’s (TR) birthday.  The 26th President of the United States of America was born on October 27, 1858. You can’t be a New Yorker and not note that the Roosevelt family is embedded into the bedrock of New York City history. They are associated with many important institutions such as Roosevelt Hospital, the Bank of New York (now BNY Mellon) and the United Nations; to name a few.

A family of go-getters and do-gooders; New York, the United States of America and the world has been the beneficiaries of  their almost, genetic, predisposition to public  service.

I bet it’s hard to stand out in a family of overachievers; yet TR managed to stand out. To me TR was a triple strength Roosevelt and a triple threat.  He was strong physically, mentally, and morally.

Several weeks ago while running a few errands in the city; I passed by the Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site.  I took time to stop in and was lucky to find that a Park Ranger was about to commence a tour.  The Ranger regaled the small group with facts and fiction about the man and his times. I’m so happy I took the detour, but sorry I didn’t have my camera, but I did have my cellphone in my handbag. In celebration of Theodore Roosevelt’s birthday, here are a few shots of his birthplace.

Peace,

ATreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in History, new york city, photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Theodore Roosevelt!

  1. Pingback: Theodore Roosevelt 10.27.13 Thought of the Day | ritaLOVEStoWRITE

  2. Pingback: A Fit Mind Will Rot In An Unfit Body | Obesity Undone is Fat Then Fit Now --- Weight loss is a side effect of fitness; Fitness is not the end result of weight loss!

  3. Thanks for this post, A! I love TR’s mentality, particularly his “man in the arena” quote.

    • You are very welcome. There are so many meaningful TR quotes. I recall the “man in the arena” quote being posted in my 6th grade social studies classroom. I like – “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.”

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.