Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

My entry for the Weekly Challenge: Saturated consists of a few shots captured with my cell phone. I’m sharing a little green from my little corner of the concrete jungle.

Bonus: I grew up on healthy doses of Sesame Street and Lena Horne was an icon in my childhood home.  I hadn’t seen this clip or heard this rendition of  It Isn’t Easy Bein’ Green in years.  I’m glad I thought to seek it out to add to this post.

Lena (we only ever used her first name at home) sings this with such feeling and authenticity. Even if you don’t know her story, you can just tell she knows the challenges of being “green” in a world that doesn’t value the full spectrum.

Peace,

A(Green)TreeGrowsinBklyn

About atreegrowsinbklyn

I’m an analog girl living in a digital world. I’m happy except when I’m sad. I’m serious, smart and sophisticated except when I’m silly, obtuse and crude. I’m ambitious and disciplined; except when I’m apathetic and self indulgent. I‘m thoughtful, generous and honest; except when I’m insensitive, cheap and lying. I’m grateful; I’m grateful; I am grateful.
This entry was posted in brooklyn, Photography, weekly photo challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Saturated (Pêcheur/Angler) | What's (in) the picture?

  2. I love these, especially the silhouette people and your shadow against the green background, joining them.

  3. Pingback: Photo Project “52 Bolivian Sundays” [week 39, 'Saturated': the Quena Wood Case]. | 3rdculturechildren

  4. Iamrcc says:

    Thanks for the like of my Weekly Photo Challenge post on “Saturated”.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated | A mom's blog

  6. I LOVE urban photography and you’ve got some great ones here! the blues in “penelope” are fantastic!
    Really enjoyed the Lena vid, too! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Contrast of Dawn and Sunset #photography #poetry | Moondustwriter's Blog

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated | Through the Eye of Bastet

  9. Not everything in the shadows is dark.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturated (Rangoli Art) | Processing the life

  11. pix & kardz says:

    enjoyed this, especially the contrast of the red brick with that weathered green door.
     
    and the song was a a treat too. it has been forever since i saw good old Kermit. thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for visiting and commenting. Behind the green door is a green business called Ice Stone. They create beautiful countertops from 100% recycled glass. They are tenants in the Brooklyn Navy Yard where I work.

      Kermit is a cutie!

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Saturation | blogagaini

  13. Touch2Touch says:

    I’m so glad you remembered that clip too. I loved Lena Horne (didn’t dare to call her Lena). Her voice was absolutely inimitable, and she was so beautiful! Kermit’s beautiful too.
    Loved all the photos, your shadow, and your silhouette on the mural wall, O Green Tree.

Comments, questions and suggestions are welcome. The occasional ping is music to my ears.